Copyright In Teaching and Learning

Copyright in Teaching and Learning 版權與教學

The University respects copyright and other intellectual property rights as enforced in Hong Kong and urges its staff and students to do its best to comply with the applicable copyright laws, regulations and guidelines, and suggest precautionary measures. The following is the guideline for using copyrighted material for teaching and learning purposes.

 

Ownership of Copyright of Your Work

  • CUHK Staff

It is stated in this CUHK policy on Research Policy on Research, Intellectual Property and Knowledge Transfer (para. 8) that copyright over educational materials including text, images, video or sound items in print and digital format produced by staff members in the course of the University's employment or with the use of University equipment, facilities or other resources belongs to CUHK.

Staff members who produce the above mentioned material for courses including eLearning courses offered in the University obtain non-exclusive license to use the same material for non-commercial educational purposes during and beyond their employment with the University, excluding any third party copyrighted material. If the material is created by multiple staff members, all members of the team obtain non-exclusive license to use the same material, excluding any third party copyrighted material, for non-commercial educational purposes during and beyond their employment with the University.

  • CUHK Thesis and Dissertation

Before September 2008, CUHK retained the copyright of all theses and dissertations of its postgraduate students. Any person(s) intending to use part or the whole of any thesis or dissertation submitted before September 2008 in a publication has to seek permission from the Dean of the Graduate School.

Since September 2008, the authors of theses or dissertations hold the copyright. However, to provide wider accessibility of theses or dissertations for scholastic and academic purposes, all postgraduate students have to agree to grant CUHK a worldwide irrevocable, non-exclusive right to digitize and make their work available for scholastic and academic purposes provided that proper acknowledgment of authorship is given.

 

Fair Dealing Exemption

Under the current Copyright Ordinance, copying in whole or a substantial part of a work without the agreement of the copyright owner could incur civil or criminal liability. Some copying, known as fair dealing, is permitted for educational establishments. To enjoy "fair dealing", please refer to copyright exemption - fair dealing for details.

If the fair dealing for education exemption is not applicable, and you still wish to use third party copyrighted material for giving or receiving instruction, you need to:

  • Seek permission from the copyright holder -  Even when using your own content, for example an article written by you, if published copyright will probably have been assigned to the publisher who may or may not allow the work to be used in another work, or
  • Use material already available under a Creative Commons license or in a public domain

Please also refer to the following guideline for using copyrighted material for instructional purpose:

 

Photocopying of Printed Works

Under the fair dealing exemption of the existing Copyright Ordinance, non-profit-making educational establishments or students are allowed to photocopy literary, dramatic, musical and artistic works to a reasonable extent for giving or receiving instruction where no relevant licensing schemes are available.

The extent of permissible photocopying of printed works various with different literary, dramatic, musical and artistic works. Details can be found at Guidelines for Photocopying of Printed Works by Not-for-profit Educational Establishments (pages 4-6).

The photocopying notice is available in the library to alert users about the restrictions on photocopying.

The exemption does not apply to course pack production, and if licences under licensing schemes are available in respect of the relevant work. Please refer to the web site of the licensing bodies for the licenses granted by them. CUHK has signed agreement with HKRRLS regarding printed course pack production.

 

Private Study and Research

Hong Kong's Copyright Ordinance allows fair dealing in any type of copyright work for the purpose of research or private study. All the conditions that determine whether the dealing with a work is fair dealing shall apply. Please refer to copyright exemption – fair dealing or IPD's Copyright in Education in Hong Kong.

 

Licensing Bodies in Hong Kong

Different licensing schemes are offered by different licensing bodies in Hong Kong. Please refer to their web sites for details.

 

Use of Library Materials

The Library duly observes some strict provisions in Hong Kong’s Copyright Ordinances. The guidelines below are compiled to provide Faculty and students with general advice on how to avoid infringing copyright laws in the use of print, non-print and electronic resources of the Library:

 

Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism is copying a substantial part of a work without proper acknowledgement of the source, an act of using others’ materials as one’s own. It is a kind of academic dishonesty. It is an act of copyright infringement if the copyright of the work in question has not expired or you have not sought any copyright permission in using the work.

The University places very high importance on academic honesty. Detailed guidance can be found in this guideline: Honesty in Academic Work: A Guide for Students and Teachers.

To avoid plagiarism, you are advised to:

  • Keep a good record of sources used
  • Paraphrase long quotations and passages
  • Limit verbatim use of source material
  • Cite the source in case of doubt. Please go to citing sources for guidance on how to cite sources.

 

Creating eLearning Content for CUHK students

When creating eLearning material for a specific course for CUHK students, please follow these dos and don'ts:

Do:

  • Use CU eLearning System. Hong Kong educational establishments must adopt security measures to restrict access to the third party copyrighted material to persons who give or receive instruction in a specified course of study, and to persons who maintain or manage the network.
  • Ensure any third party copyrighted material is only stored in CU eLearning System for a period necessary for the purposes of giving or receiving instruction in the specified course of study, in any event no longer than 12 consecutive months.
  • Link to the original source of third party copyrighted material licensed by the University rather than upload content into CU eLearning System. Third party copyrighted material can include online articles, videos, book chapters etc. available via CUHK Library. The Library has guidance on how to link to the electronic resources. But first,
  • Check that you are allowed to link to this third party copyrighted material. CUHK Library’s A-Z of Databases provides a link to a resource’s license agreement, which states what is permissible for the particular resource. 
  • For other third party copyrighted material it is preferable to either:
    • Use content from a source that is open access and already copyright cleared. Please refer to this list of potential sources of open access material.
    • Seek permission from the publisher or copyright holder to use third party copyrighted material. This can take months and may cost. You are advised to keep a record of any correspondence.
    • If the third party copyrighted material is in print format, contact CUHK’s Copyright Clearing Office.
    • Acknowledge third party copyrighted material authorship in all cases.
    • Seek consent from participants when recording material to be included in eLearning content. Do ensure they understand the copyright of content created belongs to CUHK and CUHK may license the material for use by others. The content may appear on CUHK’s website and elsewhere.
  • Seek help.

Don't

  • Create textbook or course pack substitutes, including the compilation of scanned material from different chapters and articles from different books and journals
  • Link to websites which contain material that infringes copyright.
  • Use third party copyrighted material if you have sought permission and failed to get a response. Seek an alternative.
  • Include CUHK students or students’ work in the eLearning material you are creating.

 

MOOCs and Coursera

MOOCs (Mass Open Online Course) are free online courses provided by different institutions for anyone with internet access to select the one they are interested to. Since 2013, the University has joined Coursera and provides several courses in areas of humanities, economics, education and engineering to world learners. Please refer to the following for the coursers available and the terms of use.

Coursera is a for-profit company. The fair dealing exemption for third party copyrighted materials does not apply. It means that MOOCs on Coursera cannot make use of the third party copyrighted material licensed by the CUHK Library.

If your MOOCs have to use third party copyrighted materials, you are advised to:

  • Use open access resources below to create MOOC content;
  • Seek permission from copyright owner of the materials

In all cases, please attribute the original source.

 

Open Access Resources for e-Learning Content

Since MOOCs are offered to the outside world, materials such as library subscribed e- resources that restricted to the use by current CUHK staff and students should not be used without seeking permission. Please read the library guidelines for compliance with the copyright laws in the use of library resources.

Instead of using third party copyrighted material, you are advised to use the following open access resources that are already copyright-cleared.

  • Mixed Media
    • DOER - Directory of Open Educational Resources - Open educational resources for e-books and online courses from Commonwealth universities and educational institutions
    • Harvard's Open Collection Project – an virtual collection consisting of digitized images of books, serials, pamphlets, photographs, manuscripts, and catalogs
    • Internet Archive – a library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more
    • OAIster – a database of various types of open access digital resources
    • Public Domain Review – provides a collection of images, books, films, audio and animated Gifs fallen into the public domain

 

  • E-Books and e-Theses
    • CUHK Electronic Theses & Dissertations Collection - holds more than 10,000 full text of CUHK theses and dissertations at research degree level in both English and Chinese
    • Directory of Open Access Books - a searchable index of peer-reviewed books published under open access with links to the full-text at publisher websites or repositories
    • EThOS - UK Theses & Dissertations from the British Library
    • Global Text Project - publishes open content electronic textbooks
    • Google Books – allows search for free full-text books
    • HathiTrust Digital Library - offers a collection of millions of titles in the public domain
    • Online Books Page - listing of more than 35,000 free web-accessible books in a variety of disciplines from the University of Pennsylvania
    • Open Access Directory (OAD) - Publishers of OA Books - This extensive list of open access book publishers provides resources for finding books in a variety of fields
    • Open Educational Resources - provides a detailed list of open source textbook
    • Open Library - Provides access to over 200,000 eBook titles on world's classic literature
    • Open SI - an online portal for manuscript submission management and open access publication of Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press’ scholarly series and proceedings published after October 2013
    • Open Textbook Catalog - contains a small collection of free textbooks provided by the University of Minnesota
    • Open Thesis - a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents
    • Project Gutenberg - contains thousands of books in the public domain
    • World Digital Library - international collection of texts supported by UNESCO and developed by a team at the US Library of Congress in collaboration with partner institutions in many countries

 

  • E-Journals
    • arXiv - open access to e-prints in science, engineering, computer science, finance and statistics
    • BioMed Central – provide access to open access journals in science and medicine
    • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals
    • Google Scholar – search for journal articles and scholarly content from the web, but the availability of full text depends on whether the resource is open for access
    • PLOS (Public Library of Science) - a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication
    • PubMed Central - a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
    • SHERPA / RoMEO - a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories

版權與教學

Copyright in Teaching and Learning 版權與教學

香港中文大學尊重在香港強制執行的版權和其他知識產權,並敦促其教職員和學生, 全力遵守適用的版權法律,法規和方針,並提出防範措施。以下是使用受版權保護資料作用教學用途的指引。

 

你的作品的版權擁有權

  • 中大教職員

香港中文大學的版權與知識產權政策 (第 8 節) 訂明,所有由僱員在受僱工作期間或使用大學的設備、設施或其他資源製作教育視聽教材的版權均屬中文大學。

除了第三方版權資料外,任何中大教職員製作上述提到的網上學習課程供大學使用的均獲非獨有許可於大學受僱工作期間和之後使用相同的資料作非商業教育用途。如果課程資料是由多位教職員共同製作的,則除了第三方版權資料外,所有成員均獲非獨有許可於大學受僱工作期間和之後使用相同的資料作非商業教育用途。

  • 香港中文大學博碩士論文

香港中文大學擁有二零零八年九月以前所有研究生博碩士論文的版權。任何人士如想在出版物內使用部份或全部在二零零八年九月前提交的博碩士論文,須要尋求研究院院長的特許。

自二零零八年九月開始,博碩士論文的作者擁有其論文的版權。為使博碩士論文因學術目的而提供更廣泛的存取,所有研究生須要同意授予香港中文大學一個世界性不可撤銷、非獨家的權利,可以為學術目的而數碼化及提供他們的作品,前提是要有適當的認可給予作者。

 

「公平處理」豁免

根據現行的版權條例,複製全部或一部作品的實質部分而未經版權人的特許,可能招致民事或刑事法律責任。按照「公平處理」的原則,教育機構獲允許複製某部分內容。如要獲得「公平處理」豁免, 請參考版權豁免 - 公平處理

如「公平處理」對教育機構的豁免不適用的話, 而你仍然希望使用版權資料作接受教學的用途, 你必須:

  • 向版權人尋求特許 - 即使使用自己的內容的時候,例如一篇你自己寫的文章,也有可能已把出版版權授予出版商,而出版商可能會或可能不會允許在其他作品中使用, 或
  • 利用獲「共享創意」版權授權或在公開網絡已有的資料

另請參閱以下使用版權作品作教學用途的指引:

 

影印印刷品

根據現行版權條例的「公平處理」豁免, 非牟利教育機構或學生獲允許複製一個合理的範圍內的文學作品、戲劇作品、音樂作品及藝術作品作教學或接受教學的目的, 而其中沒有相關的特許計劃可用。

法例容許文學作品、戲劇作品、音樂作品及藝術作品有不同的複製 /分發限度。詳細說明可參考非牟利教育機構影印印刷作品指引。(頁4- 6)

圖書館已張貼影印須知,提醒用戶有關影印的限制。

此豁免並不適用於製作印刷套裝教材, 亦不適用於相關作品已根據特許計劃訂有特許協議。 詳細說明可參考 香港的版權特許機構的網站。香港中文大學與「香港版權影印授權協會有限公司」已簽訂製作套裝教材的協議。

 

研究或私人研習

香港現行的版權法允許任何版權作品在「公平處理」的原則下作研究或私人研習的目的。所有決定某一作品是否公平處理的條件均適用。詳細說明可參考 版權豁免 - 公平處理香港知識產權脂署的教學與版權

 

香港的版權特許機構

在香港, 不同的版權特許機構提供不同的授權計劃。詳情請參閱它們的網站。

 

使用圖書館資源

圖書館一向遵守香港的版權條例的一些嚴格規定。故編制以下指引,協助師生在使用圖書館印刷、非印刷及电子资料時如何避免侵犯版權:

 

避免抄襲

抄襲抄錄是作品的實質部分而作對原資料作適當的確認,是抄錄他人著作作為自己的著作的行為。它是一種學術造假的行為。如果使用的版權作品未過期,或你沒有尋求任何版權特許, 那麼這也是侵犯版權的行為。

香港中文大學對學生作業有嚴格的學術誠信要求。本指南提供詳細指導: 學術著作誠信: 給學生及老師的指引

要避免抄襲, 你可以考慮下列的方法:

  • 好好保留原資料的記錄
  • 釋義長的引句和段落
  • 限制使用原資料的逐字逐句
  • 有任何疑問都請註明來源。 引文的方法可參閱 引文管理

 

中大學生創建網上學習內容須知

當中大學生創建網上學習內容時,請參加以下的「可以/不可以」:

可以:

  • 使用 CU eLearning System. 香港教育機構必須採取安全措施,以限制訪問第三方版權資的人士,是可在規定的課程上作教學或接受教學的目的,以及是誰維持或管理網絡的人員。
  • 確保任何第三方版權資料只存在 CU eLearning System 一個特定時期,以某一指定課程教與學必需的時間為限,而在任何情況下,不超過連續12個月。
  • 鏈接到由大學特許的第三方版權資的來源,而不是把內容上傳到​​ CU eLearning System。第三方版權資料包括通過香港中文大學圖書館獲得的電子期末考文章、視頻、書籍章節等。 圖書館提供怎樣連結圖書館電子資源的指引。 但首先,
  • 請查閱你是否允許連接到該第三方版權資料。 CUHK Library’s A-Z of Databases可鏈接你到資源的特許協議,讓你了解什麼是某一特定資源允許的。
  • 若要使用其他的第三方版權資料,最好採用下列其中一種方法:
    • 使用開放存取和已清除版權的內容。 請參照此開放存取資源列表
    • 向出版商或版權持有人士尋求使用第三方版權資料的特許。 這可能需要幾個月的時間和金錢。 建議您保留的任何通信記錄。
    • 如果第三方版權資料是印刷品的話, 請聯絡香港中文大學的版權處理辦事處
    • 在任何情況下確認第三方版權資料的作者。
    • 當記錄任何作為網上學習內容的資料時,請向參與者尋求同意。請確保他們了解創建的內容的版權屬於中大,及中大可以特許他人使用其資料。內容可能出現在中大的網站和其他地方。
  • 尋求幫助。

不可以

  • 創建教科書或 套裝教材 替代品,包括從不同的章節和不同的書籍和雜誌上的文章以掃描方式彙編。
  • 鏈接到包含侵犯版權資料的網站
  • 在未能尋求特許的情況下使用第三方版權資料。請使用其他資料。
  • 在你所創建的網上學習內容包含香港中文大學學生的作品

詳情請參閱 「Copyright and eLearning Guidance at CUHK

 

「大規模開放在線課程」 和 Coursera

「大規模開放在線課程」(MOOC) 是免費的網上課程,由不同的學術機構開辦,任何人只要能夠連到互聯網都可選擇自己有興趣的課程。中大於2013年與 Coursera 結成合作夥伴,並向全球有志學習人士提供數個以人文、經濟、教育及工程為主的課程。請參閱以下可供選擇的課程及使用條款:

Coursera 是一牟利機構。用於第三方版權資料的「公平處理」豁免並不適用。這意味著,在 Coursera 的「大規模開放在線課程」不能使用由香港中文大學圖書館許可的第三方版權資料。

如果你的「大規模開放在線課程」必須使用第三方版權資料,建議您:

  • 使用下列 開放存取資源 創造「大規模開放在線課程」的內容;
  • 向第三方版權資料的版權人尋求許可。

在任何情況下,請列明原始資料來源。

 

網上學習內容的開放存取資源

由於「大規模開放在線課程」是提供給外界使用的,因此,某些只限於現有的香港中文大學教職員和學生使用資料,如圖書館訂閱的電子資源,則不能在不申請授權下使用。 要符合版權法對使用圖書館資源的要求,請閱讀圖書館指引

要取代使用第三方版權資料,你可以考慮使用以下不存在版權的開放存取資源。

 

 

  • 電子期刊
    • arXiv - 開放存取科學、工程、計算機科學、金融和統計的 e-prints 資料
    • BioMed Central – 可訪問科學和醫學的開放存取期刊
    • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - 是一網上目錄,建立索引及提供開放存取、同行評審之期刊
    • Google Scholar – 可搜索在網絡上的期刊文章及學術內容,但全文的可用性取決於資源是否開放存取
    • PLOS (Public Library of Science) - 是一個非牟利的出版和倡導組織,領導研究通訊轉型以加快科學及醫學的成果
    • PubMed Central - 在 U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)關於生物醫學和生命科學期刊文獻的免費全文檔案
    • SHERPA / RoMEO - 提供搜尋出版社於網路上或開放獲取庫自我存檔的期刊文章之有關政策條款