Introducing Digital Humanities (Sep to Nov 2016)

Date: 
01/09/2016 to 11/11/2016

To promote and raise the awareness of digital scholarship and digital humanities research at CUHK, seminars are organized for academics, researchers and postgraduate students:

Introducing Digital Scholarship Lab Facilities

This briefing session will demonstrate the use of equipment and facilities in the Digital Scholarship Lab and to introduce the software and tools available from the workstations to enable you to conduct research at the Lab at ease.

12 Sep (Mon) 2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Click here to register
21 Sep (Wed) 11:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Click here to register
23 Sep (Fri) 2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Click here to register
27 Sep (Tue) 11:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Click here to register

Digital Humanities: Introduction to Tools and Methodology

This seminar will introduce about Digital Humanities and some related tools and methodologies in doing humanities research in digital world.

4 Oct (Tue) 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Click here to register
13 Oct (Thu) 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Click here to register
27 Oct (Thu) 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Click here to register

GIS for Digital Scholarship Research

One of the important tools for doing digital scholarship research is to use Geographic Information System (GIS) in doing spatial and temporal analysis. This seminar will inform you some practical application of this tool in the academic world in conducting digital scholarship in particular digital humanities projects.

7 Oct (Fri) 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Click here to register
17 Oct (Mon) 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Click here to register
11 Nov (Fri) 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Click here to register

Showcasing your Collection using Omeka

Do you like to share your research work with others in the research community, launch an online exhibition of your own collections or collaborate with others in conducting digital scholarship research? Omeka is a handy software tool for these purposes. This workshop will demonstrate how to build a free Omeka website and some useful applications.

26 Oct (Wed) 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon Click here to register
31 Oct (Mon) 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Click here to register

Venue: Digital Scholarship Lab, G/F, University Library
Medium of Instruction: Cantonese (English might be used if users require.)
Enquiry: dslab@lib.cuhk.edu.hk